wtc memorial

by judyko

Over the past years, I have been watching the construction of the Freedom Tower develop from the corner of my eye as I head to the PATH train at Newport Pavonia in Jersey City. This weekend I joined some friends and went to visit the memorial. It was a brisk wintry, New Years Eve. Even though I have been lucky enough not to have lost anyone during the tragedy, sometimes i happen to look at a digital clock when it is 9:11am or pm, and automatically take a moment of silence. I love the memorial design of the 2 waterfalls, cascading into the footprints of the twin towers. The names are meaningfully arranged by towers, responders, coworkers, relationships. I look forward to returning in the summer to visit the survivor tree and sit for awhile among the 400 white oak trees that will be planted.

photo-wtc

photo

