welcome summer

by judyko

Today is the 2nd official day of summer. These images from javiy’s flickr are triggering a nostalgic mood of childhood summertime days for me (even though I’m a terrible swimmer!)

Another thought: didn’t know about the Dear Diary column in nytimes until this morning. Heres one entry I particularly enjoyed:

Dear Diary:

Not long ago I was sitting in my car on Mercer just south of Eighth Street, waiting for the 6 p.m. parking to open up. Straight ahead of me was a gang of five hefty young men. On the trunk lid of their car, they had two large pizza boxes and five Snapple bottles.

They were having a great time, but after a while they began getting out of control. The extra pizza slices and the Snapple bottles were splattering and smashing and making a mess. I was getting angry, but they were five large young men, so I didn’t say anything.

As I sat there stewing, up the sidewalk came a clown. I mean a real clown, who looked as if he had just stepped out of a Ringling Brothers tent. He must have been on the way to a child’s birthday party.

He stopped and surveyed the scene. Then, without saying a word, he walked to the trunk, picked up one of the pizza boxes and proceeded to collect the broken glass and pizza slices off the ground. When he was done, he walked to the corner and deposited it in a trash container.

The young men were dumbfounded! The clown then walked back to them and passed his hat.

They dug into their pockets and gave him their change. He then bowed and walked away.

Paul Teusink

